Phir se Kejriwal!

Phir se Kejriwal!

Kejriwal’s Delhi focus to clean sweep BJP hyper nationalism, toxic politics

All exit polls give AAP clear mandate; some even give him more than 60 seats

Agency Report | New Delhi | 8 February, 2020 | 10:30 PM

All exit polls have given the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) a clear majority in the Delhi elections despite the BJP’s bluster of pulling off a surprise. The Times Now-IPSOS survey predicted 44 seats for the Arvind Kejriwal-led party while the saffron party was predicted to improve its 2015 tally and win 26 constituencies. According to ABP New-C Voter, the AAP may win 49-63 seats while the BJP may get anything between 5-19 seats. Republic TV- Jan Ki Baat survey gave the ruling party 48-61 seats, and the BJP 9-21 constituencies. The TV9 Bharatvarsh-Cicero poll predicted 54 seats for Kejriwal’s party, and 15 for the saffron outfit. However, the India-Today-Axis exit poll said AAP will sweep the elections, winning 59-68 seats, with the BJP getting between 2-11. All the exit polls predicted a dismal outcome for the Congress, which did not manage to win a single seat in the last elections. According to ABP-C Voter, the best outcome for the Opposition party will be four seats. A poll of all exit polls, put together by news channel NDTV, gave 56 seats to the AAP, 14 constituencies to the BJP.

Delhi BJP leader Manoj Tiwari dismissed the polls and said they would fail on February 11, when the results are declared. Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia thanked AAP workers for their hard work and said the party would win by a huge margin.
The Aam Admi Party seems to be riding back to power on the back of an impressive performance at the polling booths. The exit polls indicate that the AAP’s ‘development’ plank has ridden over the BJP’s ‘nationalism’ plank.

As per the exit poll results released, after polling ended on Saturday, the AAP, with an overall vote share of 50.6 per cent, has barely scraped past the halfway mark. The BJP lagged, clocking 36 per cent, while the Congress was trailing far behind with 9 per cent vote share in a bitterly-fought poll battle.

While the AAP tried to promote itself on the development plank, the BJP and Congress had primarily ranged themselves on opposing sides of the controversial Citizenship Amendment Act.

In terms of seat share, the IANS-CVoter exit poll shows the AAP winning a minimum of 49 seats to a maximum of 63 seats in the 70-member Delhi Assembly. In 2015, the AAP had won 67 seats.

The BJP is predicted to win between a low of 5 seats to a high of 19 seats. It had won 3 seats in 2015.

The Congress is expected to win a maximum of 4 seats. In 2015, the Congress had failed to win even a single seat.

Saturday’s exit polls show that the AAP has maintained the lead it had registered in the pre-poll survey projections when elections were announced. Findings of the survey on January 6 indicated that AAP would garner 53.3 per cent of votes and end up with close to 59 seats, while the BJP with 25.9 per cent of votes may have to remain content with just eight seats.

The extensive exit poll asked 11,839 respondents after they voted for in the assembly elections. The exit poll was conducted in all 70 assembly constituencies spread across the 7 parliamentary constituencies of Delhi.

The votes will be counted on February 11.

It is not looking promising for the BJP as far as the Delhi election results are concerned, but it is likely to have gained significant ground, according to the IANS-CVoter Exit Poll.

The BJP, which got just 3 seats in 2015, is likely to get anything between 5 and 19 seats, according to the exit poll.

Even at its worst, it will be better performance by the BJP in comparison to its 2015 show. At its best, it will be more than five times the BJP’s score in 2015.

So where is it expected to gain ground? According to the exit poll, it is likely to get anything between 1 and 3 seats in Chandni Chowk, East Delhi, New Delhi, West Delhi and North-East Delhi. The saffron party is likely to win anything between zero and 2 seats from North-West Delhi and South Delhi.

To put things into perspective, the last time the BJP won from Rohini, Vishwas Nagar and Mustafabad. Vijender Gupta, Om Prakash Sharma and Jagdish Pradhan won from those seats, respectively.

According to the IANS-CVoter Exit Poll, the BJP has a projected seat share of 36 per cent this time as against 32.2 per cent it got in 2015.

This year, the BJP went all out to win Delhi with Union Home Minister Amit Shah pressing almost all sitting BJP Chief Ministers and the majority of its Lok Sabha members to campaign in the national capital.

The BJP held nearly 5,000 rallies and a series of roadshows to make a case for the saffron party, which has been out of power in Delhi for more than two decades now.

But if IANS-CVoter exit poll is anything to go by, the BJP may have to sit in the opposition for another five years.
Union Home Minister Amit Shah convened a closed-door meeting of BJP leaders on Saturday night even as exit polls projected the Aam Aadmi Party storming back to power in the national capital.

Party sources said the meeting would review all exit polls. All the seven Lok Sabha members from Delhi and Delhi party chief Manoj Tiwari are slated to attend the meeting. Besides, key senior ministers who have worked closely with Shah during the polls, such as Dharmendra Pradhan and Piyush Goyal, are likely to participate.

BJP president J.P. Nadda will also be present in the meeting.

The poll of polls suggests the ruling Aam Aadmi Party is all set to return to power in Delhi. While some exit polls suggest the BJP, which has been out of power in Delhi for two decades, is likely to gain ground, it is far away from the majority mark.

The exit polls suggest the AAP seems to have quite a lot of takers across demography, income groups and religion.

When Shah meets his team on Saturday night, he is likely to look at areas where they lagged. The BJP mounted a very aggressive campaign in the last leg of campaigning in Delhi, where it fielded most of its Lok Sabha members and sitting Chief Ministers.

BJP MPs Anurag Thakur and Parvesh Sahib Singh did not shy away from making an effort to polarise the election. When ‘Team Shah’ meets behind closed doors, the only question they could be looking at is: “What else could have been done?”

As polling ended, Aam Aadmi Party leader Manish Sisodia said his party is winning by a huge margin.

In a tweet in Hindi, he thanked all the party workers for working tirelessly.

“Voting ended! Hearty congratulations to all the workers! All have worked from early morning till late at night, and some worked 24 hours in the last few days. This election was proof of how selfless and strong is our relationship. We are winning by a huge margin. Salute to the hard work of all colleagues,” Sisodia said. (IANS)