Modi in Karnataka: Taking the battle to the ground.

Modi in Karnataka: Taking the battle to the ground.

First the Gowda spin, then Modi’s charge of JD-S helping Congress to win

Rahul’s Karnataka’s Most Wanted video for Modi; dares PM to speak for 5 min

Agency Report | Tumakuru (Karnataka)/New Delhi | 5 May, 2018 | 10:00 PM

Taking head-on the two rival parties of the BJP, Prime Minister Narendra Modi charged the ruling Congress and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) of being in tacit alliance for the May 12 Karnataka assembly polls while pretending to fight in parts of the southern state. Congress chief Rahul Gandhi questioned Modi’s silence on BJP’s corrupt candidate especially the Reddy brothers and their gang.

“The people of Karnataka have right to know about the alliance between Congress and JD-S because they pretend to fight in some parts of the state while being together in the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) as evident from the latter’s support to the ruling party’s corporator (Sampath Raj) in becoming the city mayor last year,” asserted Modi at a public rally, organised by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to campaign for its candidates in the northwest district, about 70 km from here.

The Congress and JD-S had tied up to run the Bengaluru civic body after the 2017 elections for the state capital’s 198 wards, denying BJP the mayoral post.

The JD-S also supported the Congress candidate Sampath Raj in becoming the city mayor in 2017.

Incidentally, Raj is a Congress contestant in the C.V. Raman Nagar assembly segment in the city’s southeast suburb against P. Ramesh of JD-S and the two-time legislator S. Raghu of BJP.

Modi also alleged that the JD-S was working towards saving the Congress in the assembly elections.

“The Congress doesn’t speak the truth. Its members lie every day and if anyone is trying to save the image of the Congress, it is the JD-S,” he alleged.

Reiterating his argument from earlier rallies, Modi told the voters that there was no way the JD-S could defeat the Congress to form a government.

“If there’s a party that is capable of bringing change in the government and to the state of Karnataka and its people, it is the BJP, under the leadership of (its Chief Ministerial face) B.S. Yeddyurappa,” thundered Modi.

The Congress-led government in the state failed to even ensure supply of water to the state, due to which several farmers had to commit suicide, he lamented.

Alleging the Congress was doing only “lip-service” to the farmers’ issues, while indulging in corruption themselves, he said BJP has taken on a full-fledged battle against corruption.

“There is no way this kind of corruption can be tolerated,” he reiterated.

Modi is on his third visit to the poll-bound state this month ahead of the May 12 Assembly polls.

He will later be addressing rallies in Gadag, Mangaluru and Shivamogga.
Launching a fresh attack on Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress President Rahul Gandhi on Saturday questioned his silence on the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders facing corruption charges.

“Dear Modi ji, You talk a lot. Problem is, your actions don’t match your words. Here’s a primer on your candidate selection in Karnataka,” Gandhi tweeted along with a video asking if the Prime Minister will speak for five minutes on the eight tickets to the “Reddy brothers gang”.

The video plays like an episode of “Karnataka’s Most Wanted”.

“Making someone who has 23 cases of corruption, cheating, forgery your CM candidate? When will you speak on your top 11 leaders facing corruption cases,” it questioned.

The clip named B. Sriamulu, G. Somashekara Reddy, T.H. Suresh Babu, Katta Subramanya Naidu, C.T. Ravi, Murugesh Nirani, ES EN Krishnaiah Shetty Malur, K. Shivanagouda Naik, R. Ashok, and Shobha Karandlaje as the 11 BJP candidates facing criminal cases.

“Putting a lid on the Rs 35,000 crore illegal iron ore mining scam of the Reddy brothers. Waiting your reply. PS: You can refer to a paper for answers,” it said.

The attack came ahead of polling for the 224-member Karnataka Assembly, to be held on May 12.

The results will be declared on May 15. (IANS)