Time to chew on the past: Advani with Joshi.

Time to chew on the past: Advani with Joshi.

The final Modi blow: Advani, MM Joshi reduced to non-entities in BJP

Put in cold storage with Vajpayee; no decision-making for the Trimurti

Agency Report | New Delhi | 26 August, 2014 | 08:30 PM

The generational shift in BJP was complete with its founders Atal Behari Vajpayee, LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi dropped from the party’s Parliamentary Board, highest decision-making body, which has the clear stamp of Prime Minister Narendra Modi all over now.

In a token gesture, ailing Vajpayee, Advani and Joshi, for long the BJP’s ‘Trimurti’, now figure in the new five-member ‘Margdarshak Mandal’ (guiding group) after being associated with the party for nearly four decades.
Three-time Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and party general secretary J P Nadda are the new entrants to the BJP Parliamentary Board reconstituted by newly-appointed chief Amit Shah. The two have also been included in BJP’s Central Election Committee, which decides on the party candidates to be fielded in elections.
The 12-member Parliamentary Board chaired by Shah now has Modi, Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, Ananth Kumar, Thawarchand Gehlot, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Jagat Prakash Nadda and Ramlal as its members. The new BJP President Amit Shah initiated the changes after consultations with top BJP leaders and Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
Amit Shah announced the “margdarshak” committee with veteran leaders Atal Bihari Vajpayee and L.K. Advani in it, a statement from the party office said on Tuesday.

“Shah has constituted a ‘margdarshak’ committee with veteran party leaders as its members for guiding party activities,” it said. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh are the other two members of the committee, clearly an attempt to soften the blow. (IANS)